Back to TJ after 30 years!

ChicagoBob

Haven't been to TJ since 1987, but planning a return trip in about 3 weeks. I've been mongering in Nevada since 1985 and started missing the action across the border.  After reading this board for a couple of weeks, I see things have really changed in the Zona.  I'm planning on staying for the weekend just before Christmas.  If any of you guys are out mongering, give me a shout!  I'll buy the first round! 

Edited by ChicagoBob
  • Like 11

Yes, there has been a ton of changes!!!

It will be a shock to you, especially when you see the border in San Ysidro--all different now!

Of course, the beer is still cold, the chicas are still hot, and the tacos are still tasty!

Enjoy!

And seek out answers to your questions!

VIVA MEXICO!

Edited by Don Pisto
  • Like 7

Thanks for the welcome and heads up!  I see there is a west gate now at SY.   A passport needed to enter too?   WTF?   I used to just walk through...  must be all those dangerous gringo mongers. 

I see that prices have changed, but are still affordable.  I used to pay $20 for a BG and $5 for the room.  Good times for sure.   Can't wait to see the other changes.  I had to renew my passport at the last minute and still waiting for my new one.  I didn't notice that it expired on December 19th.  I would have been stuck in Tijuana, haha!  

BTW, if anyone needs intel on Nevada, be sure to hit me up!  I'm more of a Northern Tier guy (Elko, Carson, Reno), but I've mongered all over the state.  

• Like 5

Prices are still low compared to anywhere else--however BG's start at $60.00 usd, and short time rooms upstairs are $17.00-$20.00 for 15-30 minutes!

Also, ficha (Ladies) drinks are $8.00-$9.00 usd.

BTW, there's a cover charge of $7.00 usd for Hong Kong--but they give you a free drink upon payment! (You can exchange the drink at the bar).

IMO, currently Hong Kong (HK) has the best quality of chicas!

Then Tropical Bar, followed by Adelitas and Chicago Club!