Where can I find the best, safest, & cheapest place to live by the border on the Mexico side ( & park my newish car )? Or, do I even need to live by the border?

Mr. Garganta

I apologize if this is a common question, I am a noobie, but I am trying to get in and have a place to stay immediately that isn't super shady.

Would be nice to know some fellow gringos down to chill nearby.

Do I even need to live right next to the border, or maybe just down the highway is a bit better?

Sorry if this is a dumb question but I am totally new to this, so please help me out.

• Haha 1

As you are a noob, and have barely even been to TJ, I think you'll need to approach this a bit more slowly and certainly more methodically.

Your first problem will be crossing. Unless you truly enjoy spending hours every day standing or sitting in line, waiting to cross, or if you enjoy crossing in the wee, small hours of the morning, you will want to apply for a SENTRI or Global Entry card. If you get GE you'll get SENTRI automatically. 

Once you have your crossing issues sorted, get a longer-term hotel room for a couple weeks, or a month, and test-drive the city. There are several new extended stay style hotels in TJ that are very comfortable. You can use that as your home base and check out various areas.

If you must be around other gringos you'll probably want to live near Rosarito. But prices will reflect that. If being near the border in order to cross quickly, i.e. you don't have to drive across town, then you'll want to check out something maybe in Centro, or Cacho, or perhaps Otay Mesa (the Otay crossing is a lot less congested than San Ysidro).

I think you'll get better responses if you check the place out a bit first, and then ask specific questions about specific areas. Also, do you have an approximate budget? That will be important.

• Like 10